KXIP vs KKR Live Score

The BJP, with its tally of 122 in the Assembly, is poised to get three Rajya Sabha seats now, while the Sena, the Congress and the NCP will get one each.

CM said she had raked up issues pertaining to state with the central leadership of party as party's National General Secretary and now that she's going to be elected to Rajya Sabha, she can raise up issues in Parliament as well.

In Bhopal, senior BJP leaders Thawar Chand Gehlot, Dharmendra Pradhan, Ajay Pratap Singh and Kailash Soni, besides Rajmani Patel of the Congress filed their nominations from Madhya Pradesh. The three candidates are L Hanumanthaiah, Naseer Hussain and G.C Chandrashekar - a Dalit, A Muslim, and a Vokkaligga (a dominant OBC community), respectively.

Baluni, who heads BJP's media departments, has been fielded from Uttarakhand while Rao, a spokesperson and psephologist, will file his nomination from Uttar Pradesh.

Former Union Minister Naranbhai Rathwa along with prominent lawyer Amee Yagnik was nominated from Gujarat.

More news: Meet Senate's new chairman, Sadiq Sanjrani

The Congress today cleared two more names for the Rajya Sabha election and nominated Akhilesh Prasad Singh from Bihar and Lekhram Sahu from Chhattisgarh. Nearly all the candidates are certain to win due to the party's numerical strength in respective state assemblies, party sources said. In all, 14 candidates have filed their nominations for election to the 10 seats.

The third candidate of the Congress, which has 123 members, is expected to emerge victorious with possible support from seven JD (S) rebels and a few independent Legislators. "With Patangrao Kadam's recent demise, Congress's strength has been reduced from 42 to 41and its two MLAs Nitesh Rane and Kalidas Kolmbkar are considered to be Rane loyalists so it is likely they might not vote in favour of the Congress".

It was Sonia Gandhi who decided the candidature of Ketkar, a veteran journalist who is not a party member but has been publicly defending the Congress and opposing the Sangh ideology.

The Congress denied a renomination to former Union minister K Rahman Khan from Karnataka, Satyavrat Chaturvedi from MP, Rajani Patil and Rajeev Shukla from Maharashtra and former state president Pradeep Kumar Balmuchu from Jharkhand.